SDEA Announces Six New Committee Members for the New Term 2021 to 2023

Singapore, 11 Aug 2021–SDEA announced the appointment of six newly elected Committee Members who will be responsible for leading the organisation for the next two years (2021 to 2023), with the mission to advance the profession of the drama/theatre educator and advocate for the practice and value of drama and theatre in Singapore.

The election was done online via Zoom, through its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 4 Aug 2021 with a total of 43 SDEA members present.

The six elected Committee Members and their roles are:

President: Rosemary McGowan

Vice-President: Aishwariyah Shanmuganathan

Secretary: Jeremy Leong Tze Wei

Treasurer: Banupriya Ponnarasu

Committee Members: Rashmi Koslaphirom, Tabitha Surita

(For a biography of each member, refer to the annex in the full press release attached)

New Committee Members Jeremy Leong, co-founder of Zip Zap Zoom Collective, and Rashmi Koslaphirom, a speech and drama educator, are well-versed industry practitioners in their respective fields in drama and theatre, while Banupriya Ponnarasu and Tabitha Surita are Arts Managers who have organised many prominent arts events and festivals in Singapore.

“The new Committee Members will bring great perspective, and definitely help us to move closer in achieving our goals.” said President Rosemary McGowan. “In the next two years, I hope SDEA will be able to make deeper connections with freelancers and drama/theatre educators in Singapore and the world. I want to keep working on offering more support to our community as well, whether that’s in the form of the advocacy, education, or in more day-to-day financial or emotional ways.”

Access the full press release with annex here.

Media contact

Tan Hong Ging, Communications & Partnership Manager
Tel: (65) 6345 6997 | 9617 9316